Guyana Politics: The PPP/C has released their list of 33 MPs for the new Parliament


The PPP/C today released their list of 33 MPs for the new Parliament.

A statement from the PPP/C follows:

The People’s Progressive Party/ Civic (PPP/C) on August 19, 2020 submitted to the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM) names of candidates, extracted from its List of Candidates, to be Members of the National Assembly, as well as its lists of names of candidates extracted to be members of the ten (10) Regional Democratic Councils (RDCs).

The thirty -three (33) Members of Parliament include twelve (12) from the Geographic List and twenty-one (21) from the National Top Up List.   

Our 2020 Parliamentary team demonstrates that the PPP/C is truly a national party representing the diversity of Guyana, with all ethnic groups, geographic regions and a broad range of skills and knowledge of our country represented.  Included in the 33 Members of Parliaments (MPs) are six (6) medical doctors, 4 attorneys at law, economists, administrators, as well as activists from the labour movement, practitioners in broadcasting and the media, and the business community. There are thirteen (13) new Members of  Parliament, comprising of young women and men, as well as those who will bring  more extensive experience with them. The Interior regions are well presented with four (4) strong leaders from the Amerindian communities.

The 2020 team of 33 is comprised of new, young and seasoned leaders, as follows:

1. Prime Minister, Brigadier Mark Anthony Phillips

2. Vice President, Bharrat Jagdeo

3. Mohabir Anil Nandlall

4. Gail Teixeira

5. Dr. Frank Christopher Stanislaus Anthony

6. Vickram Outar Bharrat

7. Zufikar Mustapha

8. Colin Croal

9. Nigel Dharamlall

10. Sonia Savitri Parag

11. Joseph Linden Fitzclarence Hamilton

12. Deodat Indar

13. Charles Shiva Ramson

14. Pauline Rose Ann Sukhai

15.  Priya Manickchand

16. Dr. Vindhya Vasini Harshkumari Persaud

17. Juan Anthony Edghill

18.  Hugh Todd

19. Susan Rodrigues

20. Warren Kwame Eusi Mc Coy

21. Alister Charlie

22. Dr. Vishwa Mahadeo

23. Yvonne Pearson Fredericks

24. Faizal M. Jaffarally

25. Sanjeev Jaichandra Datadin

26.  Seepaul Narine

27. Anand Persaud

28. Dr. Bheri Sygmond Ramsaran

29. Dharamkumar Seeraj

30. Bhagmattie Veerasammy

31. Dr. Jennifer Reginalda Ann Westford

32. Dr. Tandika Smith

33. Lee Gendre Hakkim Williams

As provided for in the Constitution, the President has appointed Mrs. Oneidge Walrond and Mr. Robeson Benn as Technocratic Ministers as neither were on the PPP/C List of Candidates to the National Assembly.

The PPP/C also intends to name Parliamentary Secretaries to sit in the National Assembly, in keeping with the Constitutional provisions, in the near future.

Further, attached is a copy of the submission from the PPP/C to GECOM with regards to the list of names extracted from the PPP/C Lists to sit as Councilors in the ten Regional Democratic Councils. These lists also reveal a diverse combination of new, young and seasoned women, youth, farmers, teachers, technicians, businessmen, and religious leaders.

People’s Progressive Party

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


  • kamtanblog  On 08/20/2020 at 2:44 am

    How many anti-corruption laws will be
    debated/decided/written into to law and rigorously enforced by poo poo and the
    Not holding my breadth !

    How many were instituted by previous
    parliament ?

    Political status-quo Guyana dilemma !
    With or without “black gold” !

  • brandli62  On 08/20/2020 at 4:40 am

    The move of PPP to assign 4 seats to Amerindians is a smart move. They constitute more than 10% of the Guyanese population and their numbers are growing. By contrast, the Indo-Guyanese population is declining. The opposition should take note of this development and respond proactively. In my opinion, future elections will be won by that party which mobilises best support by the Amerindian communities.

    • kamtanblog  On 08/20/2020 at 4:52 am

      How many elections results reflect minorities ?
      USA has a white minority yet an idiot in chief
      was elected and may be re-elected for second
      term…better devil u know !

      Reformation of Guyana’s constitution is way
      forward….scrap the written on and let parliament make decisions based on
      democratic debate/voting by MPs.
      MPs voting made public !

      My spin


      • brandli62  On 08/20/2020 at 5:18 am

        Kamtam, just look at the demographics and you’ll realise that the Amerindian vote will make the difference. Neither the Indo- nor the Afro-Guyanese are large enough to win an outright majority by themselves. The need the support of the Amerindians and the people of mixed race. Regarding the election laws, MPs should be directly elected based on the party list submitted at the time of election. It appears to me that the system of selecting MPs after seat numbers allocated to each party does not allow the electorate to select people of their trust and appeal to serve in parliament.

  • Yvonne-K  On 08/20/2020 at 2:41 pm

    Make no mistake the PPP are well aware of the important role that the Indigenous peoples of Guyana will play in future elections. For 23 years this group of our first peoples were neglected under the PPP regime. President Granger and APNU did a lot to improve the lives of our Indigenous people during their short term in office. The opposition are also fully aware of what they need to do.

  • C.S.D. Maraj  On 08/21/2020 at 5:59 pm

    When broad statements are made without facts to back up these statements it is called fake news.I can give another history lesson on what the PPP did to help the Amerindian children because I was there witnessing first hand schools being built and equipped with solar panels to supply power for Lab top computers for the Amerindian children to kick start computer program in classroom.
    This is only one of the several projects too numerous to mention. When I read inaccurate statements I like to educate the Guyanese people on true facts regardless of which party is in power. Note this is in no means trying to put down or embarrass anyone Thank You.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s