TRAVEL: Guyana among countries to be allowed under strict criteria to enter EU

Guyana among countries to be allowed under strict criteria to enter EU

The list has already aroused controversy after sources revealed that the United States – the worst-affected country worldwide by COVID-19 with more than 2.4 million cases, is on the following list.   

On Thursday, European officials failed to decide which countries will be barred from entry after the bloc’s external borders open, with an EU diplomat telling Euronews that officials “could not reach an agreement” and that talks would continue into Friday.

Euronews has obtained, from EU diplomatic sources, the full draft list of the countries for which Europe’s borders will be open and can confirm what we reported on Wednesday that Brazil, Qatar, the US, and Russia are indeed not on the approved list.
Sources also threw into doubt the border reopening date of July 1, suggesting agreements will not be forthcoming in time.
The full list of countries whose nationals will be allowed to enter Europe according to the draft list is as follows: Vatican City, Monaco, Montenegro, Andorra, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Ukraine, Albania, Turkey, Kosovo, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Turkmenistan, Vietnam, China, Thailand, Myanmar, Mongolia, Japan, South Korea, Georgia, Bhutan, Lebanon, Indonesia, Uzbekistan, India, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Palau, New Zealand, Australia, Dominica, Bahamas, Saint Lucia, Uruguay, Jamaica, Cuba, Guyana, Paraguay, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Costa, Rica, Canada, Angola, Tunisia, Namibia, Uganda, Mozambique, Mauritius, Zambia, Rwanda, Ethiopia, Morocco, Algeria, Egypt.

Diplomatic sources also hinted to Euronews that there is a disagreement between nations on the criteria to use for this decision, with some maintaining that data about COVID rates is not reliable. They are asking the ECDC, the EU agency for disease prevention, to come up with more details, the sources said, adding that the lists will be reviewed every two weeks.

When EU guidelines were released two weeks ago, officials said the list would take into account the infection rate in countries concerned. The criteria are based on epidemiological data, and at the time, we were told that 47 countries were on the list of acceptable countries and 54 nations on the barred list. From our source in Brussels on Thursday, there are now 54 on the acceptable draft list, and these numbers may continue to fluctuate. (

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s