Book: The Girl from the Sugar Plantation – By Sharon Maas

The Girl from the Sugar Plantation: A gripping and emotional family saga of love and secrets (The Quint Chronicles) – By Sharon Maas

An unputdownable story of a woman in search of the truth, the man she falls in love with, and the devastation of the Second World War.

1934, Guyana. All her life, Mary Grace has wanted to know the truth about who her parents really are. As the mixed-race daughter of two white plantation owners, her childhood has been clouded by whispered rumours, and the circumstances of her birth have been kept a closely guarded secret…

Aunt Winnie is the only person Mary Grace can confide in. Feeling lost and lonely, her place in society uncertain, Mary Grace decides to forge her own path in the world. And she finds herself unexpectedly falling for charming and affluent Jock Campbell, a planter with revolutionary ideas.  

But, with the onset of the Second World War, their lives will be changed forever. And Mary Grace and Jock will be faced with the hardest decision of all – to fight for freedom or to follow their hearts…

An utterly compelling and evocative story about the heart-breaking choices men and women had to make during a time of unimaginable change. Perfect for fans of The Secret Wife and Island of Secrets.

What readers are saying about The Girl From The Sugar Plantation

I loved, loved, loved this. An easy 5 stars. One of my top reads of this year.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I absolutely adore Sharon Maas’s books – she is one of my favourite authors, someone whose stories give me hours of reading pleasure. And this wonderful book is one of her best! I loved this book from start to finish, savouring every word, the author’s beautiful prose. An evocative, powerful story of a family and a country. LOVED every word and I absolutely cannot wait for more from this amazing author.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars

The Girl from the Sugar Plantation is a beautifully written story that has it all. I whizzed through this beautiful book, unable to put it down. A wonderful and heartrending story with lovely characters. Very highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This is a powerful book of love, relationships and trust What great writing from a great author… Five Stars!Stardust Book Reviews, 5 stars

‘I practically read this book in one sitting. I became invested in this story from the opening line and it held my attention to the very last. I highly recommend this book, not only to lovers of historical fiction, but anyone who just loves to read!Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This novel again read like a film, the setting is stunningly vivid and the colours build up to form quite a picture of history and culture. The plot is nicely done, steady and builds to a climax of twists and secrets. The Girl from the Sugar Plantation is a fascinating read!’ The Book Trail, 5 stars

‘The gripping, evocative and poignant story of a young girl’s difficult transition into womanhood amidst a time of turmoil.’ Mrs Blog’s Books

Loved it!!! Really absorbing story… Sharon Maas weaves a fine tale and remains one of my go-to authors.’ MetLineReader

An epic story of family deceit, love and identity set against a stunning backdrop and yet there is much more to this book than that. With a rich cast of characters, you cannot help but get completely absorbed in their lives. I adored The Girl From The Sugar Plantation and recommend it highly. Maas has brought us a wonderfully written piece of historical fiction.’ Bloomin’ Brilliant Books

These books have taken me to a far-off land, to another time… The magic and power of music, the pain and pleasure of love, the destructive nature of secrets and lies all delved deep into my heart and I expect will stay there for some time… a powerful and emotional story that will melt even the coldest of hearts.

Look Inside and order from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Girl-Sugar-Plantation-emotional-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B074C3ZMVM/ref=cm_cr_arp_d_product_top?ie=UTF8#customerReviews

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: