CARICOM: Forty Years of Integration – by Rosaliene Bacchus

By Rosaliene Bacchus

Three Worlds One Vision

CARICOM - Signing of the Treaty of Chaguaramas - Trinidad & Tobago - 4 July 1973Signing the CARICOM Treaty of Chaguaramas – Trinidad & Tobago – 4 July 1973
Seated from Left to Right: Prime Ministers Errol Barrow for Barbados; Forbes Burnham for Guyana; Eric Williams for Trinidad and Tobago; and Michael Manley for Jamaica
Source: Chaguaramas Development Authority (


On 4 July 2013, the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) celebrated its fortieth anniversary. The Treaty of Chaguaramas establishing the Community was the vision of the leaders of Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, and Trinidad and Tobago. As leaders of newly independent nations, the majority small islands, they perceived a need for cooperation for development. At the time, their focus was on economic integration, foreign policy coordination, and cooperation in areas affecting human and social development.

The Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, signed on 5 July 2001, went beyond with the inclusion of the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME), established in 1989. Globalization had changed the world…

View original post 371 more words

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: